A Year of Reading 2003

Hello, and welcome to my online record of the books I am reading and have read so far throughout the year 2003. There are two reasons I am doing this. First of all, I joined a webring “A Year of Reading” you’ll see the link for it at the bottom in the column to the left. It requires me to do two things, I must keep a list of what I am reading as well as read at least one book a month.

The other reason why I’m doing this (and why I joined the ring in the first place) is because I have a passion for reading and wish others did too, it is one of the reasons I became a writer. I wish to go places and go on adventures I cannot in real life, and I wish to be able to take my readers there too. I love the feeling I get when I read a really good book, and I wish to be responsible for that feeling in others among other things.

There’s so much more you can get out of reading that you cannot get out of TV, movies, and such. I believe all someone needs to become an avid reader is just the right book. Those who can’t stand reading are likely only so because they were force fed the wrong genre in school. I do realize however that there are some who actually lack the “inner movies” of their imaginations that allow them to enjoy books like they should be enjoyed.

And there you have it, my position on books and reading. Now, without further ado, my list:

Books read in December:

Lost Languages: Enigma of the World’s Undeciphered Scripts by Andrew Robinson (finished 12-03-03): A pretty informative book. A tendency to get dry in places, but since I have an interest in linguistics (especially in the ancient languages department), it was overall a pretty interesting book.

Astronomy A Beginner’s Guide to the Universe by Chaisson and McMillan (finished 12-04-03): A textbook for this school’s semester, we read the whole thing though and it was pretty good, informative, interesting (minus a few of the technical chapters that were really dry–like the one all about telescopes and how they are built and yada yada–I still read them but ugh, they did not interest me lol).

Anthropology The Exploration of Human Diversity 9th Edition By Conrad Phillip Kottak (finished 12-09-03): Not a book I picked up on my own. This was my Anthropology textbook for fall semester, but it was really good and had a lot of interesting things in it. I think it was an excellent choice for a textbook.

The Forest For the Trees: An Editor’s Advice to Writers by Betsy Lerner (finished 12-31-03): A wonderful book that doesn’t “Strunk you over the head with rules about style” and grammar, but rather takes an analyzing view of the writer and the writing life in order to help would be writers, or even already established writers understand themselves, their world, and their writing more. It was suggested to the writing group I am a part of, DII by Momoka, and I am now passing it on, saying that I think it should be on every writer’s bookshelf.

Books read in November:

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (finished 11-29-03): One of the many book I was reading all at once, I actually started this one at the beginning of this month, the rest are still ongoing, most are near to completion. This book was excellent, one of my favourites now. However, I would recommend that if you plan to both watch the movie and read the book, you should watch the movie first, otherwise the movie will drive you nuts, which is a shame because it is a good movie.

Books read in October:
I spent a good deal of October reading many different books, mostly required material for classes and didn’t finish a single one, they’ll all finish at about the same time though and I’ll have multiple listings for December most likely.

Books read in September: I was pretty busy with school and lazy when it came to reading so about the only thing I read during this time was my textbooks, but hey, at least I read ne?

Books read in August:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: Yes, I read this in January too, but this time I read it to my son.

Books read in July:

I don’t think I read any books in July, I got quite lazy, I’ve been reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to my son though.

Book read in June:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Books read in May:

I didn’t update and so I forgot which ones I read. They probably weren’t very memorable.

Books read in April

Various Children’s Books by various authors, honorable mentions (some read multiple times, all never read before):

Shibumi and the Kitemaker by Mercer Mayer, The Cat Who Lost His Purr by Michele Coxon, Cats’ Eyes by Anthony Taber, and Angel Child Dragon Child by Michele Maria Surat

Strands of Sunlight by Gael Baudino (finished 04-12-03)
Strands of Starlight by Gael Baudino (finished 04-27-03)

Books read in March

Shroud of Shadow by Gael Baudino (finished 03-30-03)

Books read in February

Unfortunately, February was a very busy month (whenever I wasn’t sick :/ ), so I didn’t finish any books, as a matter of fact, I’ve kind of put a hold on the two books I was reading that month heh ^_^”

Books Read in January:

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin (finished 01-?-03)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (finished 01-19-03)

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling (finished 01-21-03)

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling (finished 01-23-03)

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling (finished 01-27-03)

Current Writing in Progress: Stalemate

Not exactly reading but I figured it was as good a place as any to keep tabs on my current writing in progress.

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

