Azure Skies

Word list Wednesday: Meadow, rattle, fairy, regards, weakness, azure, ego, populace, sink, fuzzy, news, plant, devious, mushy, and left.

The memories are fuzzy…lost in the azure skies above this meadow full of wild flowers. I awoke in a circle of mushrooms, devoid of all memory. I stood and swayed from the weakness in my legs and rubbed my head. A tinkling laugh sounded in my ears. I looked all around me, attempting to pinpoint its source, but it seemed to come from everywhere and yet nowhere at all. Yes, I know that sounds vague, but that’s the only way I can explain it. The yellows, reds, blues, and purples of the many surrounding flowers winked at me. So bright were their colors, that it was almost like looking directly at the sun. If the whole scene wasn’t so pleasant, so surreal, I imagine it would have given me a headache; all the bright colors, buzzing insects. The rattle of cicadas was the most prominent, bursting out in clicks and rolls as though they were spreading news to the entire populace.

But then I spied something that glittered with an opulent quality, just to my left, on a milkweed plant. I stumbled forward, rubbing my eyes to dispense of the groggy feeling that might be causing such an illusion. But no…it was…. Just as I got a foot away from her, she waved her tiny hand in a circle. I felt my insides sink as the ground fell from beneathe my feet. Before I could fall, she took me by the hand, and flew us safely to the blossom of a crimson poppy. The center of the poppy beneathe my feet felt rather mushy, but as I looked into her green eyes, saw the shy smile, the waving golden hair, and the wings of rainbow irridescence, I didn’t care that I was only two inches tall. I didn’t care that I couldn’t remember who I was or how I had gotten here.

Her plan, though, was devious. Beneathe all the innocence, beneathe the high regards for my comfort and happiness, this fairy had mischief in mind. She wove her spell around me, her enchantments. I fell so deeply in love, and when I pledged my undying devotion to her…. I shake my head even now to recall. She giggled merrily, waved her hand again and I was left alone, in an empty meadow beneathe azure skies. I had been restored back to my normal size, I had back my memories, they were insignificant compared to my shattered ego, my shattered heart, living a still shattered life. I will never love again, for the fairy queen has stolen my heart, my soul, and she will never relinquish it.

If by chance you find yourself in a mushroom ring in a flowered meadow beneathe an azure sky, give my regards to the fairy queen who left this poor man dying as he lives.

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

