The Weirdest Dream

A journal entry by Dragonfly

People: Mom
Colors: None that I can remember.
Feelings: Panic, fear, sadness, disorientated, relief.

I was walking down a dark tunnel with a light at the end of it, almost the tv pictures people talking about the bright light at the end of the tunnel when they die. I realized what it looked like then and turned to walk the other way. Mom had already died, I thought, I just can’t leave Dad all alone. I began to walk back the other way, toward a dimmer light that never got any closer. Panicking, I began to run for the light, the it was like the tunnel was flipped. I remember swaying on my feet a little and discovering that I was facing the white light again. “I’m trying but I can’t get out!” I yelled. I don’t remember who I was yelling at, but I remember a gentle voice calling a reply. Crying, I turned around again toward the dim light to run when my mother appeared before me.

“You’ll get out Dragonfly. It is not your destiny to die…completely.” That’s what she said to me.

“Mother?” I said.

“Fight it and you’ll champion both worlds.” I moved to hug her and she disappeared, leaving me in a hospital-like place. I saw a chart with my name on it, pronouncing me dead, and I saw myself, laying on a table. I’ve seen it in movies, I knew what to do. I walked to my body, reached out to touch it. I expected to be jerked back into, like I’d seen in some sci-fi movie once. My father was crying and holding the right hand of my body. I wanted to hug him, but knowing I wouldn’t be able to touch him, I instead climbed onto the table and layed over my body.

I heard the machines. They indicated to the room that I was alive again, but when I opened my eyes again, I felt different. I felt my father’s hand slip through mine as though it weren’t there. It was disorientating. I closed my eyes again. I was alive, still alive. The odd feeling left and I felt whole again, like I was still a ghost even while I was in my body again. The truth be told, this is what I saw while I was sleeping in the hospital after the accident. Dad said they had pronounced me dead, but that god answered his prayers to bring me back. Was it a really odd dream, or was it one of those out-of-body experiences? I told Dad about it, and he said that I must have dreamed it through the drugs they used to keep my body from going into shock. He looked pretty shaken up about it though…

–Dragonfly

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

