Imagination Travelogue

Prompt: Describe a place you’ve always wanted to visit, but never have.

I’m finally here. Words alone cannot describe to you how I feel right now, at this moment, even though I’m going to try. I close my eyes and breath deeply of the fresh, crisp air. I hear the waves whisper to me, beckoning me toward the ocean beaches surrounding this emerald island. With my eyes closed, I can feel the tingling sensation against my skin, a tell-tale sign of the magical energy in the very air. I breathe it in deeply, let it course within me. Here, I don’t feel so silly thinking I might see a faerie, or even a mermaid. Even the humans are wonderful. Cautious over my touristy look at first, they warmed up quickly when they realized that I wasn’t here to poke fun at them. I believe in the faeries they insist exist, the faeries everyone on this island has seen at one time or another. Having lived apart from here my whole life, I’m still one of them.

In the very air I can almost here a melodic song lilting with a hauntingly beautiful gaelic tongue. Not only does the wind speak here, it sings. It makes me smile, soft, knowing, almost secretive.

I feel the flutter of wings brush like a tiny breeze across my cheek and open my eyes. The shimmer of a brilliant green dragonfly dances in my peripheral vision. Not what I was hoping to spy, but I smile just the same at it’s aerial display of artful twists and loops, riding an invisible rollercoaster. Maybe I won’t see them, but I can feel them. I know what it means, not having to see to believe.

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

