After Sunset

You think it will change its mind for you, child? It has abandoned many before, never to return. No amount of purifying will bring it back now. It has left you in darkness.
Forgotten in the shadows.

Use it.  As if I have anything better to do while locked up in this tiny room.  As old and shabby as this whole building looks, this little room is at least better than the cell.  Is this more of my family’s doing?  Or are these two really clueless about how I came to be, well, nearly dead, according to Ziel.  I can’t feel the Light anymore and I only just realized how cold and lonely I feel without it.  Empty.  Ziel said to give up.  Embrace the shadow.  No one gets it back once they’ve lost it.  My time in that cell, I am ashamed to admit that the light had every right to abandon me.  My family won.  Is this some sort of mind trick then?  They set it up to push me even farther away?  Somehow…I feel this is separate.  Regardless, I refuse to believe the light has abandoned me.  I must pay my penance, purify myself, and then the light will return.  I have to believe that.  If I must do it from this tiny room in the dying land around me, then so be it.  I will not let them win.  I am not forgotten.  Just because the light has left doesn’t mean it will not return.  It always returns with the sun.  It may be after sunset now, but the sun will always rise in the morning.  This ruined village we are in, I saw it when I tried to leave.  It looks like one of the many human ghost towns created by the scourge.  That means that I am most likely somewhere in the northern section of the Eastern Kingdoms.  The taint is not heavy, however, so I believe I am not as far north as the plaguelands.

I heard voices downstairs just now, there are visitors.  I cannot hear well what they are saying but one started to come upstairs, talking about me.  If they were speaking in Thalassian I could catch more, I think, but my Orcish is not good enough to make out and piece together from another floor.  I did manage to hear the one on the stairs a moment ago ask them why they were keeping me.  Clinging to the light was weakness, he said.  Nonsense.  Why do so many see this as a path of weakness.  Weakness would be to just give up because I don’t have what I want.  Weakness would be feeling this empty hole the light left in me and giving up on ever feeling its warm comfort again.  Weakness is what happened to me in that cell…I don’t know if I can do this.  I can do this.

Respect.  The first virtue taught is respect. While the Holy Light teaches that awareness of the self and the universe is a goal, one must also see the connection between others and the universe. Destro  respect tenacity compassion respect tenacity compassion respect tenacity compassion respect tenacity compassion respect tenacity compassion respect tenaci_________________________________

Respect

The first virtue taught is respect. While the Holy Light teaches that awareness of the self and the universe is a goal, one must also see the connection between others and the universe. Destroying other’s happiness and severing other’s connections with the universe is not serving the world’s well being, and therefore not your own. The practitioners of the Holy Light are not naive, however, and understand that trial, conflict, war, and suffering do happen; but they strive to make the universe a better place in spite of these hindrances.

Tenacity
The second virtue is tenacity. The adherence to this virtue is, incidentally, the part of training under the Holy Light that weeds out the unfaithful, as true dedication takes years. Fresh-faced acolytes often lose hope and the true meaning of the Holy Light when they realize that it takes a lifetime to serve the philosophy. The world is much bigger than one lone soul; and while the world can change a soul in a day, it takes much more time to change the world. Only through tenacity can a servant of the Holy Light hope to affect the universe. If some young students feel like this is an impossible task, others take heart in the realization that if you truly believe there is a connection between the self and the universe, one cannot help but affect the other, no matter the size. Affecting the world can include anything from teaching and instilling hope in others to joining with other like-minded individuals to work together to create a bigger change.

Compassion
After the first two concepts are mastered, the student can take on the final virtue: compassion. The connection between the self and the universe is strong, but it still is only one connection. If a follower of the Light serves another to increase his happiness, his bond with the universe grows stronger. The happiness he receives by helping someone also strengthens himself and the universe, and he is able to affect the universe even more.

Compassion is perhaps the most powerful — and yet most dangerous — virtue.

If someone is too compassionate, he can give help where none is needed — or wanted. This oversight can hinder one’s growth and happiness. For example, one may help another with a seemingly impossible quest, when such a quest is not actually out of the abilities of the one making the attempt. Thus, Compassion (However well intentioned) has resulted in that person’s inability to grow as the quest was essentially “done for them”, hindering their growth and happiness.

Some helpers can be awkward and do more harm than good with their actions, increasing the suffering and unhappiness in the world. A well meaning follower of the Light may rush to the aid of an adventurer and wind up gaining too much interest of those attacking, and thus force those they try to help to rush to the follower’s aid.

This is why compassion is taught last; only the wise and those fully understanding compassion may identify who is truly in need and who can grow on their own.

Note:  The definitions of the three virtues are as they appear in the wow lore wiki here and are a product of rote memorization on Caera’s part.  They are not her own words (nor mine).

This is a journal post from the perspective of Caerwynn, my sindorei shadow priestess in the game World of Warcraft and the main character of my OF, Blood Filigree

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings, World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

