Captive Lady

I hated the city, cold, rainy, and dreary. Miserable and full of gossip. When the walls went up, they trapped me inside. “Time to grow up, Lellian, my dear.” Father would say. He had his eye on raising the prestige of our family through the wealth created by our business. I needed to learn the ways of a proper lady. Corsets and empty conversation with a cute titter. No more trips to the highlands became a good thing. It made me act too much like a boy and I was to be a lady now. Lellian, not Leli.

Losing mother tore him up. They denied me the full details. Nothing a lady should hear. Only my brother would tell me anything. And only one word. Worgen.

Can I blame my father then? I will never forget the empty, angry swirl of emotions and pain in his eyes as he stared me in the face from the other side of the iron bars. I still wore the shredded rags from the change, the ebb of power sending shivers wracking my weaker human body.

“Lellian Rowle is dead.” He turned away and that was the last I saw of my father.

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings, World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Captive Lady

  1. Eirien says:

    Oooh. The last paragraph surprised me. Splendid short story. 😀

  2. Pingback: Family Ties |

  3. Pingback: Open Sky: Merchant’s Ticket |

Share your thoughts...

