At The Core

Do we all possess this core, I wonder.  An unnamed force wrapped tightly within and feeling so badly as though it wants to stretch and push away the walls built around it.  Our…potential.  It feels much like greatness, bottled up tightly in a container ill-suited.  Perhaps we all feel it, but we remain quiet lest we leave a foolish and vain impression on others?

Those that tap into the potential threatening against human confinements, they are the great ones.  Or do only the great ones sense that something more within?  I cannot believe I’m special.  I think we all have that untapped potential.  And yet…I am so keenly aware of the power that itches for a way out, a release.  Even before this curse I felt it.  It only becomes harder to contain.

Greatness does not bring with it promises of wealth and comfort.  Some forms are destructive.  That force stretches, pushing harder at my walls now.  That power…the potential.  It excites me, stealing breath and keeling head-first into fear.  It begs for release.  I dare not answer.  I place my hands over my ears and ignore the knocking.  I soothe its edges with promises that everyone feels it and there is really nothing there to answer.

I am a weak vessel, you see. If just one wing of potential stretches, I fear I cannot stop it, and I will shatter as it finally finds its way out of my carefully crafted prison.  And so I tell myself everyone feels that core; the vanity in human nature.  I force myself to look at my people and see.  They are in control of it.  I am in control of it.

And yet, the wild ones, together with human depravity, haunt my imagination.

– L. E. Rowle

(Random journal entry by my worgen druid, Lellian Rowle,  in World of Warcraft)

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings, World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to At The Core

  1. Eve's Accomplice says:

    Because I know nothing of WoW past the comedic stereotypes it was difficult for me to believe that such beautiful words were associated with the game 😉 I suppose I should not have judged video games so harshly…Thanks for posting!

    • saronai says:

      Thank you for your kind comments. They made my night on an otherwise crummy day 😀 As for WOW and video games, I suppose it’s who you meet and what you get involved with. I tend to prefer roleplaying and it gives me a handy framework for writing practice as well.

  2. sirivindas says:

    It took me a while to figure out that you had moved your blog. I just managed to see that you are updating here now. I need to catch up on so much. I’ll start reading.
    Cata caught me too.

    I love this entry. I can really relate to it, the feeling of a core of power that must be contained. If the prison breaks, one will be forced to answer the power. That can be quite frightening. I have not written as any of my characters for some time. Last I wrote was as Tramples, my Tauren shaman… whose Tauren name escapes me now.

    Elerah (verdant-hearted.org)

    • saronai says:

      Hi! Nice to see you about again. yeah, I moved here because it’s easier for me to update and change my own design as much as I’m able (for free anyway). I keep trying to update more frequently. Either way, nice to know you’re visiting again 😀

  3. Pingback: Family Ties |

  4. Pingback: Open Sky: Merchant’s Ticket |

  5. Pingback: Family Ties | Saronai's Blog

Share your thoughts...

