Children’s Week

Rena sulked in the corner, chewing at her bottom lip as the boys ran about outside. Children’s week always excited them.  She hated it.

“Not fair,” she mumbled, using a stick to trace invisible shapes in the floor at her feet.  Her eyes darted to catch Jeylie on her bottom cot across the room.  The other girl hummed as she picked at the clothes on her doll and spoke to it in quiet tones.

Rena shoved her hands into her pockets and pulled out the little wheels and metal gears she collected in her pocket.  People dropped such interesting things.

One of the boys laughed loud, making her look up to see a man in plate tousle his hair with a chuckle of his own.

“Stupid boys,” she mumbled.  She pulled her goggles from her pocket and strapped them over her eyes and began taking apart the little machine Miss Praicee once gave her.  Her goggles and her gears, that’s all that mattered.  They could keep their stupid children’s week.  Who wants to go out meeting kings and eating ice cream with heroes anyway.

“You could probably pass as a boy.”  Jeylie called from across the room, tittering.

Rena hunched her shoulders forward, ignoring the other girl.  She asked the matron once.  Just once.  The answer made her insides feel cold, even still.  She also felt like a bug tickled in her head, just above her neck.

They use to let the girls participate, until some started disappearing.  A few years later they might be found in a brothel.  Some were not found at all.  The boys were always returned.  Rena couldn’t blame anyone for not wanting to keep them.

~Snippet from the pov of my human rogue, Renawyn (when she was only about 7 or 8-years-old), from the game World of Warcraft

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings, World of Warcraft. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Children’s Week

  1. Eirien says:

    Eek! That’s a scary thought – kidnapping and worse. Considering some people take their adopted kids directly into warzones (Alterac Valley, etc) and worse, the matrons should conduct more thorough interviews. Don’t ya think?!

    (Also, I’m still grumbling about this last children’s week event. I managed to get the new snail pet on two alts but was so sidetracked due to RL stuffs I forgot to do the quest in Outland for the marshwalker!)

  2. saronai says:

    Sorry to hear about that 😦 This was mostly just an on-the-spur excuse I made up for why we still only ever get the human boy orphan in SW. Apparently the draenei girl doesn’t count since she can already talk to and summon all the elements, don’t think anyone will be messing with her hehe.

    I was kinda sad on the outland one too, mostly because I wanted the marshwalker but I needed one more of one of the others for the achievement. I’m not fond of egbert but took him instead.

    • Eirien says:

      That sucks that you felt forced into choosing Eggbert. And I thought I was the only one who never wanted to get him. I got Peanut the first year it was available then never bothered for the others.

      I think you should have gone for the Marshwalker anyways. It would have been something you loved, and who knows when Blizz could change the requirements of the achievement. 50pts is a lot, but it’s just points. 🙂

      • saronai says:

        If I had it to do again, I’d choose the marshwalker. I was trying to finish out the children’s week event. I didn’t realize capturing the flag, as a rogue, with my orphan out in Eye of the Storm would be such a pain though. Oh well. I’m pretty sure the marshwalker will be there next year and Glitchy (the mechanical squirrel) is the only pet Ren needs ICly.

Share your thoughts...

