Identity Quest

In my last post, I talked about my great-grandma, Goldie and my Cherokee heritage.  I also spoke briefly of my current search for a surname to pair with Saronai.

Welcome to the official identity quest post!  At the heart of this quest, the borrowed surname, Aldarion and my desire for a surname as meaningful as Saronai.

Years ago, I found an online Tolkien elf-name generator.  What is your elven name?  You put names in the boxes (or words) and it gave you back researched and/or pseudo-Tolkien elvish names.  Feawyn Aldarion resulted.  Then I started using Saronai online.  The need for a surname arose, I shrugged and supplied Aldarion.

I’ve reached the point in my online presence that I need and want a “real” surname to pair with Saronai.  Time to turn in the Tolkien surname I borrowed.

My real last name sounds funny paired with Saronai (to me):  Saronai Kent.  My husband’s sounds off too:  Saronai Rifenburgh.  Though it looks nice enough.  Other ideas were Renaura (combination of a nickname and my first name) and Renelly (two nicknames) Either way, after recalling the dream I spoke of I’m pretty sure I want it to speak to my Cherokee heritage, even if I can’t prove it.

Really, I feel lucky to know that my great-grandmother was full-blooded Cherokee and raised on a reservation.  I know (of) several tribe members who found an ancestor on the rolls for but really know nothing about them, nor do the older members of their family.  My connection is a bit more real, and knowing more than a name on a roster is worth more to me than paperwork proof.

That leads me to the name given me in a dream “Clever Beaver” and my Grandma Goldie’s, “Helpful Beaver.”  Setting aside whatever disbelief you may have about the true nature of the dream, I like the story either way.  Assuming I never dream of the name in actual Cherokee, and assuming the Cherokee culture department never responds with an answer, I’d still like to incorporate the word for beaver into my new surname.

Judging on one beaver name as an example, the name likely would start as either Doya, Toya, or Taya (“Tayanita” is a Cherokee female name for “Young Beaver”).  Doya is the official English alphabet version, but back in the day when the names were first spelled with English, they contained several variant spellings (which apparently include Taya and Toya).  This explains how Tsalagi became Cherokee to some extent.

I am considering Saronai Doya, plain and simple.  I’m also open  to combos, such as combining Goldie with Doya for something like Goldoya.  Saronai Goldoya?

I’m not sure about the Cherokee word for clever, much less pairing it with Doya (Uwolvtsadi).  Plus, Cherokee names for people don’t seem to work like that (nita, nor any variant seems to mean anything close to “young” as an example).

And so I turn to my readers as I wait.  Any suggestions?  Preferences?  Ideas?

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Identity Quest

  1. Eirien says:

    I’ve little understanding on Native American/First Nations surnames. So I’m no help to you. 😦 Though, I wish you success in your search for a perfect surname.

    • Saronai says:

      Oh, I didn’t necessarily mean for anyone reading to tell me the answer, but maybe if you had an opinion on some of the surname ideas I suggested, any that you liked the sound and/or look of best, that sort of thing. Thank you for the wish of luck though! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

