Vision Quest

Vision Quest

The drum sounds in my ear,
A rhythmic, steady beat.
The fire ‘fore me flares,
Filling me with heat.
Who faults imagination? It gives a place to go.
Without imagination, some ends will have no goals.

A cool breeze caresses,
It’s playing with my hair.
The ground beneath me opens,
I see a path down there.
Imagination takes me, where I want to go.
Imagination helps me strive for all of my goals.

Soft moonlight through the trees,
I hear an owl above.
Deeper my soul flees,
Seeking a friend’s love.
Imagination takes me, on advent’rous journey.
Imagination is the key some may not foresee.

The worlds will take their place,
Free in another realm.
Meeting of time and space,
May be overwhelmed.
Overlapping whispers reach my ears from shore,
A figure in the distance, I know I’ve seen before…

The vision takes control,
No more am I seeker.
I take a different role,
Known as the keeper.
I want answers to questions I should already know…
I am the seeker’s keeper, but will it ever show?

Feel Ocean’s kiss on breeze,
The figure’s now in view,
Hair spun with silver ease,
Waiting for her cue.
There is a bond without compare…
For many lives that we have shared.

And now she is my guide,
She’s here to help me through,
The trials I must ride,
To travel my path true.
The Spirit Realm is ours as we go explore…
I never want to leave, home’s drumbeat I ignore…

I could be lost in here,
It’s where my soul feels free,
Just ask me if I care,
Discovered the real me.
Here in this other plain, I wish never to leave…
But here within this plain, life’s plan I can’t achieve…

For now I must return,
‘Cause I have things to do.
New passion in me burns,
I am one of few…
To lead the life of balance, one foot in each land,
For only then, can I hold my fate within each hand…

Photograph by Diana & Dave Hall (my cousin and her husband)

Ever gone on a vision quest?  Tell us about it in the comments and provide a link if you blogged about it!

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vision Quest

  1. AG says:

    I especiallllly love this poem. You are a beautiful writer – will be following you, looking forward to your blog updates!

  2. Saronai says:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely compliment, it helps keep me going. I love getting to chat at least a little with my readers. The person behind the blog statistic is usually way more fun.

    Thanks for visiting and commenting!

  3. Eirien says:

    I like this poem. On one hand the person seems to be ‘stuck’ straddling two worlds, and feeling the need to make a choice between them as a ‘seeker’. On the other hand, the ‘keeper’ inside gracefully walks across all the worlds without set boundaries such as ‘reality’ or ‘at work/at play’.

    At the end of the poem I perceive the person as [unfortunately] once again dividing the ‘keeper’ from themselves and straddling/separating the worlds again as a ‘seeker’. Although, not without gleaming some wisdom which will further remove the boundaries..with time.

    /end ramble

    Thank you for sharing your poem. Take care, Saronai!

    • Saronai says:

      Thanks Eirien!

      I actually wrote this poem in the midst of tons of research on shamanism in multiple cultures. It was an interesting experience and a lovely writing session. Many of the shamanistic practices I read, believe that you could be lost in the spirit world if you grow too attached or spend too much time in it at once. If that should happen, your spirit is believed lost and your physical body will waste away while you’re gone. Basically, returning is important too, else you can’t help the people on this side of existence.

      I like what you got from it too though.

Share your thoughts...

