First “Date” Jitters

DragonflymuseNot mine though.  I’m writing to whole-heartedly apologize, but no Silent Rain 3 today either.

I think I have a good excuse!  I wrote some of it already today, and will finish it tomorrow.  In fact, I plan to write several episodes ahead before next Friday’s post over the next few days.

I thought I could finish writing it tonight, but my eleven-year-old son is on his first “date” with his best friend (a neighbor girl) at their very first dance.  She asked him to go with her as friends and they’ve both been pretty excited about it.  My little boy is growing up and he was being very gentlemanly when we left them to the dance that doesn’t end until 10pm tonight.

So…yeah…I can’t concentrate on writing!  They were so cute  and I’m both nervous and excited for them.  Nervous that something might spoil their fun, but excited because I know they’ll have a blast.  Also, so proud of my son.  When confronted with the loud music and packed “dance floor” inside, his friend (“date”) retreated and started crying, she was so nervous!  My son easily promised to stay by her side all night and hooked arms with her, calm and supportive, as he helped her back into the fun.

Her mother assures me she will be fine and having fun in no time.  Nonetheless, I’m half expecting a phone call too.  I babysit this girl some mornings and consider her like family.  They’re both growing up so fast!  Pardon me, gonna go cry and be sappy with her mother.

Dance

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Random Extras and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First “Date” Jitters

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to new updates and
    will share this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    • Saronai says:

      You were tagged as spam by wordpress. I didn’t see anything too wrong with your website though and I wanted to address this statement. I actually do have a donate button. Over on the right navigation sidebar is a dragonfly icon labeled “tip jar.” I’ve been thinking about relabeling it as “donate” but I saw any payments more like tips for my work rather than donations for a charity.

      Thanks for the compliment, regardless.

      • Saronai says:

        Replying to my own comment to add, thanks to some advice from a reader, I changed “tip jar” to read “Donate” on the button to the side. As soon as I find some software I’ll include a bar on donation progress toward hiring editors for my books and other writing/website-related expenses.

        Though the donation pull is still at $0 where I expect it to be for quite awhile. Which is okay, I like having readers and don’t write this stuff for the money.

Share your thoughts...

