Insomniac

Dragonflymuse

I’ve always been something of an insomniac, ever since my early teens.  I don’t really want to talk about why.  Let’s just say, I have the can’t fall asleep variety.  Once I’m exhausted enough to pass out…sleep is so good.

I’m tired while writing this post.  In an effort to (once again) fix my sleep schedule to something more productive, I slept for only four hours early this morning.  I try lots of tips.  Sometimes they work and sometimes the very same tip stops working.  Feel free to share your ideas all the same.  I take melanin tablets about a half hour before I’m supposed to go to bed.  They worked at first, but not really anymore.

I shut off glowing screens but sometimes end up awake five hours later (having tossed and turned without sleep for three of those hours).  It’s gotten worse (and more frequent) with my invisible illness.  It’s not gotten any better since I quit drinking caffeine daily.

I’ve noticed, once I fix my sleep schedule, I don’t particularly like the new one that takes over either.  If I’m not awake til the wee hours of morning, sleeping during the day, I’m…awake in the latter half of the wee hours of morning and passing out about 8pm.  That sucks for a few reasons.
1.  My favourite shows tend to play after 8pm.
2.  Even before my insomnia I had night owl tendencies.  I remember being one of the last to sleep at nearly every sleep over (if I got sleep at all) and then the last waking.
3.  In bed by 10pm, absolute latest no matter what I might miss.  Riding my exhaustion growing since 7pm, if I make it to midnight, my sleep schedule is toast.  I’ll be up all night into the wrong wee hours of the morning.
4.  If I get sick, which will eventually happen, my sleep schedule is also toast.

Reasons for sticking with it anyway are fairly obvious.  I’m a mom and I’m a home school mom.  Plus, it sucks sleeping in the bed at a different time as your spouse…unless he’s snoring loud before you get there (It’s all cool if I fall asleep first).

In short, I’m tired now and sleep calls me.  Rather than beggar out of posting, I’ll simply write about sleep…and a lack of it.

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Memory Monday, Muse Sings, Random Extras and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Insomniac

  1. Good luck on trying to resolve your problem there. I have times when it hits me like a ton bricks that usually finds me getting a bit cranky and feeling a tad bit disoriented. Unfortunately, my biological clock has been set at 6:00 a.m. for quite a few years and it doesn’t matter if I fall asleep at three or four in the morning, I’m always wide awake at 6:00 a.m. One of the things that I have started doing is making myself stop playing any video games or doing anything else that might be considered stimulating at least an hour before I try to get my butt to bed. Seems to work for me.

    • Toadette says:

      I’m actually built the same way. I’m up between 5:30 and 6 even without an alarm.

      I also know Saronai is mad jealous of my ability to fall asleep anywhere and at anytime. Great for avoiding family at holidays. 😉

  2. kasturika says:

    I hope you are able to sleep properly… Perhaps it is too much stress and tension… Perhaps meditation could help. Personally, I am against any artificial methods of falling asleep. I really hope your insomnia doesn’t last long. Take care…

Share your thoughts...

