Is it FAIR for Authors to Review Other Authors? Do We Ruin the Magic?

An interesting article with interesting discussions in comments. I am interested in what my non-writer readers think too. Specifically, as a reader who wasn’t taught how to pull off the magic tricks, what do you think when you read reviews/critiques left by other writers on a book you’ve enjoyed or are considering reading?

Do you feel like they ruin the show?

I have to admit, when I think of the literary elite reviews of some of my favourite fantasy books, I tend to disagree with them completely. Rules schmules. Fine, she broke some, but did you really read it? It was an awesome story! How can you say it’s unworthy on account of some stuffy old rules? I felt that way when reading elite literary opinions of JK Rowling’s Harry Potter series, actually. Yeah, I knew she broke some rules, but I enjoyed the story so much I still don’t notice while I’m reading them.

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Wednesday I wrote about the Three Nevers of Social Media, one of which was “don’t flame other writers in reviews.” This then led to yesterday’s post, Should Authors Write Bad Book Reviews? And, I have to say, you were all BRILLIANT. I was traveling all day, nearly going blind reading your debate over this issue on my iPhone. Yet, this got me to thinking….

Uh, oh. Right? *smells something burning*

For the moment, hold your digital tomatoes. Bear with me and just noodle this.

Is is fair for authors to write book reviews?

I am not taking a side because I am still pondering the idea, myself.

Writers SEE The Man Behind the Curtain

Most regular people don’t know all that goes into creating the overall “reading experience.” Novelists are like magicians, conjuring another world and imaginary people, places, events with the use of various combinations of 26 letters and…

View original post 1,070 more words

About Saronai

I'm an eclectic amalgam of confusingly combined oddities. PS If I liked your post it means I really liked your post. You don't have to visit back, but it would be nice. Either way, I read it because I wanted to and liked it because I did. I don't do the fake like for returns thing :)
This entry was posted in Muse Sings. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

